9 months to go…

Last night, the family busted out the champagne for me. It was definitely more than a personal victory to get into Wonderland Law School. Even though my family is tight-knit, I was still surprised that they were so happy for me. I am sincerely grateful that I have a family that cheers me on no matter what, when I fail and when I win.

Warm fuzzy feelings aside, if I don’t count November and assume school starts in late August, then I have about 9 months to get ready for law school. I’m equally relieved that my cycle is over so quickly and anxious about what to do with all this time. As soon as I feel more grounded (this all feels too surreal), I’m going to try and make a practical action plan for this gap year. I don’t think I’ve ever come across a gap year to law school blog (if you have, please let me know!) and I think it would be interesting to chronicle this “prep” time.

For others still waiting for their cycle results: you got this. Also, don’t be afraid of thin envelopes. I almost threw away the small envelope from Wonderland Law School because I was so crushed that I didn’t get in… In fact, it was my admit letter! Still, I wanted to read the “Sorry, it’s not you, it’s us” line with my own two eyes before I tossed it. You can imagine how surprised I was when I saw the first line: Congratulations!

At the bottom of the letter, there was a handwritten note from the Dean of Admissions. This is going to sound pathetic, but I even checked my address on the envelope AND on the letter to make sure it was really mine. I’m in, hallelujah! Another thing, my postal office was kind enough to work overtime to get me this letter (it was supposed to come on Friday but it was Veteran’s Day). Be kind to postal workers. Holidays are rough.

