pinky promises

I reread some of my older posts, and boy, I made quite a few promises to you, my readers. So I decided to attend to those today. As promised, I updated my 4 month study plan. Hopefully, you won’t be overly disappointed because it’s not fancy shmancy at all. All I did was write in very general terms what I did the last 3-4 weeks before the LSAT. I certainly did not do this to purposely throw you off the “right” track. Frankly, I’m having a hard time remembering what I did each day. I checked my spreadsheet calendar and it’s empty for those final weeks; in fact, I didn’t even track my PT scores!

I think at a certain point, I stopped caring about filling in and color-coding spreadsheets and became more focused on seeing tangible results. However, I will say that Ping’s videos was a turning point in my LSAT studies. I never really thought of myself as a visual-audio learner but I found it very beneficial to hear someone break down a LSAT problem step-by-step. There are many companies that offer video lessons, so do your homework and find LSAT prep that will benefit you. I also found Blueprint’s sample videos to be hilarious and informative, so that would have been my alternative choice if I could go back in time.

While cleaning out my study area this past weekend (I threw away 3 trash bags of used LSAT stuff!), I did attempt to record all of my PT scores. I guess a small part of me wanted to preserve some of my LSAT nerdiness. It’s very likely that I’m missing a handful of scored PTs, but my final count was 43 practice tests (I redid PT 50-60). For the record, my PT average across all 43 tests was a 169 (whoop, that’s a two point increase since the last time I mentioned my PT average!). My very worst score was a 160 and my very best was a 180. Talk about ups and downs!

On another note, I may have psychic powers because I predicted months ago that my family would ask me the dreaded question again. They did.

“So how’d you think you did, LR?”

I promised that I would work on my LSAT sixth sense, but forreal, I have no idea. Guys, I tried to guess my score many times over the past four months, but I rarely got it right. I think it doesn’t help that my scores were all over the place. My scores did increase significantly the week before the LSAT (mid to high 170s) but many of these were repeats, so it’s hard to say how much is inflated and how much is concrete. I will say that the real test didn’t make feel nauseated (like my first test) or make feel lightheaded (like my second test). I just felt really tired, like I had exhausted every brain cell. And I’m glad that’s how it felt. It seems appropriate given the time and effort I put into this third take.

For better or for worse, I have no regrets.

