“It’s gonna be legen–wait for it–dary!”

It’s easy to have faith in yourself and have discipline when you’re a winner, when you’re number one. What you got to have is faith and discipline when you’re not a winner.

-Vince Lombardi, legendary football coach

Back in the day, I was a band geek. So I observed quite a few football games in high school. I still don’t know much about football, but I sure do respect football legends who achieve greatness through discipline and self-sacrifice. Perhaps this is why sport analogies are used all the time, with the LSAT being no exception. I, however, find the LSAT to be hard for different reasons.

No matter what people tell you, studying for the LSAT is not glamorous. While Legally Blonde’s representation of law school is very much the stuff of Hollywood, one can appreciate the fact that while the protagonist is studying for the LSAT, she’s not having a good time (all of two or three minutes, but that’s beside the point).

When you score well on the LSAT, it’s more of a personal victory shared by close family & loved ones. Your test day performance isn’t televised on national TV and your results aren’t announced to the expectant public with giant confetti and trumpets blaring (fine, hypothetically, if you live in a pink sorority house, they might throw you a unicorn themed party for your LSAT win). For the common folk, the moment you open the email with your score is anti-climatic. All the hours you logged in for this one test…nobody but you really knows. After a long day of studying, the badge of honor is underneath your skin. I think it takes incredible discipline to study for the LSAT because your preparation and results are private. You have to study when no one is looking at you or expecting anything from you. The motivation has to come from you and you can’t BS that.

Bona fide,

LR

P.S. If you visited my blog last night, you probably witnessed an identity crisis of sorts (at one point, instead of good ole white rabbit as the header, I had melting crayons and tea cups all over the place). This is indicative of my personality; changes make me happy. To further prove that point, I am considering moving to blogger after the LSAT, so if you have any thoughts on that notion, please let me know. At this point, it’s 50/50.

