the longest month is about to commence

I have an uncle who graduated at the top of his law school. He’s fierce and I respect him immensely. He lives in another country so the last time I saw him was when I was a little kid. Still, I hear stories about his accomplishments and sacrifices all the time from my relatives so in a way, it’s like I’ve known him all my life.

I do remember having a very brief conversation with him. I asked, “What was the hardest part about studying for law school?”

He handed me a cookie and said…

“Everyday was the hardest day. It was never easy, but it was worth it.”

I find myself rewinding that conversation a lot these days. If someone asks me what was the hardest part about the LSAT or law school in general, I will probably give them the same answer (hopefully, I’ll have a cookie in hand as well). Everyday that I’m studying for the LSAT is the hardest day. I mistakenly assumed that everything would magically make sense one fine day. But I guess it wasn’t written in the stars for me. I have to work hard everyday to make little or no gains. If I don’t work hard today, then tomorrow, I either make zero progress or worse, my skill diminishes. It’s maddening. This isn’t a test that you can memorize so you have to put in the time and effort consistently to build up your skills.

Ladies and gents, the longest month is about to commence.

