self-memo #3: stop praying for a 180

Yesterday, it was just me and PT 29. I divided up the LR sections by question types and did everything nice and slow, without any time constraints. No idea how long it took me to do each section. I did RC and LG as usual. I figured, might as well work on accuracy today and not worry about my score. Yada yada, secretly hoping for the elusive 180.

As a result, I scored my personal worst LR score EVER. Minus 9 on one LR section. What the… Blargghh. Also did simply mediocre on RC and LG. What I don’t even… Blargghh.

This is the second time I’ve done an untimed PT and both times I’ve been burned. Last time I did an untimed thingy was when I tried doing PT 26 & 27 back-to-back. Oh yeah, that brings back a boat load of happy memories.

Very, very odd. I always start these untimed tests with the sole intention of *not* worrying about my PT score and just focusing on accuracy but lo and behold, my accuracy goes downhill when I do sections untimed. I guess this means I should stop doing untimed tests. Even though I feel awful while doing timed sections, I think that sense of urgency forces me to focus intently on every word and question. That probably translates into better accuracy. To be honest, I don’t know exactly why I did so poorly this time. When a shitty PT score happens, my brain kind of melts trying to resolve this paradox. Hold on, did I really just go there? Did I really just describe my problem as a “resolve the paradox” question?

I don’t have a magic wand to poof away these awful practice scores. For me, the key is “less thinking, more action”. I don’t have time to let one PT score waste today. Every mistake (no matter how many there are) are opportunities to improve and do better. I’m going to finish logging my LR mistakes for PT 29 and yup, you guessed it, do a practice test under strict timed conditions. If that doesn’t work out…

…yeah, let’s not go there.

