how much is too much studying?

I’ve been dwelling on a curious thought for the past few days: When can I stop studying and *know* that I am ready? At what point can I put down my pencil, smile, and feel like I’m done (with zero guilt)? 

You’re rolling your eyes at the screen. But these are genuine questions that I find myself asking whenever I am preparing for a big project or test. I confess, I even googled this. But I didn’t see anything useful.

At this point, you might be thinking:

WTH, there’s no such thing as too much studying! LR, don’t waste interweb space with this nonsensical garbage!

Just hear me out…

This feeling of security has happened to me before, although on rare occasions.  Even though I was a high school overachiever and went to a prestigious university, I procrastinated A LOT. Why? I guess I just lost the will to carry out my plans. As expected, I got burned a few times. However, I do recall that warm feeling of awesomeness when I did manage to execute my plans.

And I feel as though the LSAT is no different (aside from the crushing sense of doom). So this got me thinking, if I was to hypothetically write my own success story (aka “The Secret to my LSAT Success”) what would it say? Another way of putting it would be, if you or I came across a LSAT Cinderella, what would make that story remarkable?

  1. Once upon a time, I was born and naturally gifted. I scored a 170 on a cold diagnostics test and ended up with a 180. Or…
  2. I scored a 152 on my cold diagnostic. Took the LSAT and failed it twice. For the third time, I devoted 4 months to the LSAT and made a detailed plan. I did many full-length PTs, did every single PT question at least twice, and was scoring 175+ on the last 10 PTs leading up to the real test. I scored a 180 and couldn’t believe my eyes.

Clearly, the second one had a plan and stuck with it. My point, which I hope to prove come October 2011, is that there is a *maximum* when it comes to studying and that sense of security comes naturally when you’ve “worked your heart out” (You gotta admire Vince Lombardi’s words, even if you hate football).

Self, be strong. You don’t need to stress about whether you’ll be ready when the time comes, as long as you did everything you possibly could.

