LR’s countdown: 10 weeks until the LSAT

Monday, July 18: Iron Mental Chops

First time doing a timed test, not grade it, do an untimed review of the test, and then grade it. I feel like I’ve grown much more familiar with PT C because I essentially did the test twice. When going over wrong answers, I can remember my faulty reasoning since I committed the same error twice.

On the down side, this is an exhausting process and even though I did break my day with some exercise and a nice dinner, I was unable to do anything else LSAT-related. Hopefully, I will develop iron mental chops that will allow me to do the SOS method more easily. If you’re interested, I posted a full breakdown of my experience with PT C earlier this week.

Tuesday & Wednesday, July 19-20: What goes up, must come crashing down

See previous post. I made this same observation a few weeks ago, but these shitty days seem to happen with some regularity and I need to learn how to cope better.

Thursday, July 21: I *do* believe in angels

Woke up at 6am (I think 5am is just a tad bit too early for me) and went straight to work. Finished all logic games from PT 1-20. Then I proceeded to focus on public enemy #1: Logical Reasoning. My goal was to make a dent in my intimidating LR stack and to do it with less thinking. I filled in the spreadsheets I made Tuesday and Wednesday.

Here’s my new coping strategy: I make little piles of work (less than 10 pages) and then persuade myself that I will do just one small pile at a time. One more pile…just one more… After finishing one, I would give myself a mental high-five while channeling 30Rock’s “Liz” Lemon.

Am I proud of this pathetic attempt to stay motivated? Does it really work? Yes and YES.

I am that person. You know, the one that lives for the gold star sticker.


Friday, July 22: @ the library

I find my local library to be charming. Kids run around and old people like to take a nap on the couches, but the tables next to the giant windows are usually empty. Why? There’s no nearby plugs and the summer sun is hot, hot, hot. Thankfully, I’m immune to both. I can distance myself from the noise (sort of), enjoy the outdoors without burning into a crisp, and I can spread my stuff out. I decided not to take my laptop, which was probably my best decision this entire week.

Even though I was a library rat in college, I don’t spend a lot of time at the library studying for the LSAT unless I’m prepared to do serious work. I find that if I’m really focused on the task in front of me, it doesn’t matter if the old guy behind me is snoring a little bit. Grand total from yesterday’s 6 hour library stay was 118 LR questions (I know, it’s sad that I know this number).

Saturday, July 23: The longest mile is about to commence…

I’m impatient when it comes to studying. I like to see immediate results when I’m done with something. This does NOT help me when I’m studying for a standardized test that is all about building skills and applying them. So with great reluctance, I’ve decided to put my PTs under lock down until I have done all problems from PT 1-20. I’m done with LG, 2/3 done with LR, and have made a tiny dent in RC, so I’ve got some work ahead of me.

My reasoning for the lockdown is that I’m not consistently accurate when it comes to any of the sections. I don’t want to rush into PTs and then realize that my scores are a crapshoot because I’m not performing consistently. I won’t be rushing this process because I know this needs to sink in order to be effective. Not saying this is a fool-proof plan, but I’ve taken this sucker twice and this has always been the point where I gave in to the temptation to just take as many freaking tests as possible and cross my fingers for the best. I know better… I know this change is good for me… so why is this so hard to do?

