plan B is overrated

After a week of feeling awesome, I hit a giant cement wall. Maybe it’s the summer heat, but I was a hot mess these past two days. I can’t really explain why, but somehow I convinced myself that I had achieved NOTHING substantial these past 6 weeks of studying. That. Freaked. Me. Out.

I guess it suddenly dawned on me that HOLY MOTHER OF PEARL, IT’S BEEN OVER A MONTH since I started re-studying for this bad boy. It became impossible to focus on LSAT work and I began to frantically go through my stack of PTs and make and re-make impossible PT schedules. In one scenario, I would take 10 PTs a week and drill during obscure hours of the day… basically I was concocting a recipe for disaster.

The turning point was Wednesday evening when I  made some simple spreadsheets to show that besides the 3 PTs I’ve done (I already made a spreadsheet for that), I have made some GREAT progress in terms of drilling individual Q types. That sounds like a weird solution, but it worked. I had to prove to myself that I was going to be alright. That despite what I read online, I am not behind in my studying. And that I need to go at MY speed. I thought about deleting that crazy PT schedule, but I decided against it. It’s a reminder of what NOT to do when feeling panicked. Also, it’s the ultimate back-up plan. I call it Plan X. Not Plan B or C. No, X for extreme emergency.

