LR’s countdown: 12 weeks until the LSAT

Since I’ll be out of town this weekend and doing minimal LSAT work, I thought I’d post my weekly countdown post a little early. This week, I spent a LOT of time outside of prep making copies of preptests and re-evaluating my LSAT schedule. It’s changed again for the gazillionth time. I think I’m going to work at it until the end of July and if I’m able to go through with it (it’s a bit intense), I’ll update my “4-month plan” page.

If you love reading about other people’s routines (confession: this is my guilty pleasure), check out this blog. It’s called Daily Routines and it showcases how successful people get their shit done, what their occupations are, and what their habits are like. I recently found it and I am in LOVE with it. I especially like Benjamin Franklin, Haruki Murakami, and Franz Kafka’s routines, either because they’re inspiring or amusing. Here’s Murakami’s routine:

When I’m in writing mode for a novel, I get up at 4:00 am and work for five to six hours. In the afternoon, I run for 10km or swim for 1500m (or do both), then I read a bit and listen to some music. I go to bed at 9:00 pm. I keep to this routine every day without variation. The repetition itself becomes the important thing; it’s a form of mesmerism. I mesmerize myself to reach a deeper state of mind. But to hold to such repetition for so long — six months to a year — requires a good amount of mental and physical strength. In that sense, writing a long novel is like survival training. Physical strength is as necessary as artistic sensitivity.

The Paris Review, Summer 2004

After reading that blog, this little blogger is a little embarrassed by how little she’s done. Guys, I know I could have been more efficient (and heaven knows I have PLENTY of LSAT material to do). I’m glad I’m feeling this stab of guilt before leaving town– this should help me stay focused.

Sunday, July 3

  • Reviewed LR1 and LG section of PT A

Monday, July 4

  • Reviewed LR 2 and RC section of PT A

Tuesday, July 5

  • Linear games from PT 1-10, timed

Wednesday, July 6

  • Linear games from PT 11-20, timed

Thursday, July 7

  • PT B + 45#1
  • LR bible Chp 12, 13, and 14

For Friday-Monday, I plan on doing:

  • Read LG bible Chp 4+5 in the car
  • Do grouping games from PT 1-20 in the hotel
