tortoise and the hare

After writing that whiny post last night, I felt sort of defeated and embarrassed. So, I did what any allegorical tortoise would do, I humbly took another step towards my goal. I did not finish writing explanations for all the MBT, main point, and most strongly supported questions in PT 7-20, but I did finish PT 7 last night.

It’s ironic that this blog’s theme is devoted to the rabbit in Alice in Wonderland since I’ve acted like a tortoise my entire life. I tend to crash and burn magnificently when I try to emulate the hare, so to speak.

Anyways, minor revelation last night.

Even though I only crossed off one thing from my to-do list, I felt significantly better because that’s one less thing I have to do today. I think my aversion to writing out lengthy explanations for each answer choice for each question (whether I missed it or not) stems from the obvious fact that this is a major time sucker. For anyone interested in doing that, just know that the first time you do it, it’s going take a couple of hours. It took me about 2-3 hours to write out explanations for PT 7’s two logical reasoning sections. Still, it was totally worth it and I’m sure I’ll get faster as I do more prep tests.

Although studying can sometimes be done in big leaps like cramming the night before a final paper is due, the LSAT requires a different attitude. Drilling question types and writing explanations doesn’t instantly gratify me like taking a full-length prep test or reading a chapter of the LR/LG bibles. But this is the crucial missing step from my previous preparation, and dammit, I’m going to do it.

