One Year Anniversary of the LSAT & First Law School Post

I noticed a spike in readership and realized that *gasp* yesterday was the Oct 2012 LSAT. For everyone who took it yesterday, I want to give you a proverbial pat on the back– now go SLEEP and RELAX and then, HUSTLE ON THOSE APPS. See my previous posts on tips for law school app writing. I still get chills when I think about the LSAT. Trust me, getting into law school is much, much worse that actually doing the work in law school.

On the blogging front, I am literally amazed at how I have had NO time to check this blog, let alone sit down and write a coherent post. Today, I noticed that I hit 20,000+ views. That. Is. Unbelievable. I still remember when I hit my 100th view back in my LSAT prep days and I did a little happy-dance out of pure joy. I promise I haven’t forgotten about this blog. Frankly, I’m just having a hard time putting down my thoughts because I’m still getting used to everything. I would love to write some articles with tips on outlining, note-taking, networking, and exam-taking but I want to wait until I receive my grades. So watch out for a post in December/January.

But we gotta live in the present, so I will say that I am glad I did these things prior to coming to law school.

  • Update law school resume with gap year stuff and predicted law school activities (you WILL have to tweak the activities line because a lot of opportunities present themselves for 1Ls to take on leadership roles in clubs. 3Ls don’t do anything and 2Ls are super stressed with job searching, so some clubs rely on the naivety enthusiasm of 1Ls).
  • Narrow down geographical areas where I want to work and possible job options for my 1L summer job. Consider where your law school places well, and if you want a firm job during your 1L summer, consider the less beaten track in terms of geography. An in-depth, focused job search will probably yield better results. . .I will come back to this when I figure out my 1L summer job. 
  • Buy a good planner and a large wall calendar.
  • Get into a positive, motivated state of mind. The hardest part about law school is the psychological warfare of everybody smiling and acting chill about the work, and then hitting the books hard when nobody is looking. Studying is a “loner” existence. You should get out and meet people in your class, but realize that readings/assignments always take up more time than you originally thought it would.
  • Buy a duplex printer.
  • Learn a few simple recipes and get good at them — a peanut butter & jelly sandwich is not a real meal. If you plan on just eating out or relying on the school’s cafeteria, I’d recommend against that idea. Eating well is just as important as studying hard.

The ONE thing I wish I didn’t do prior to law school:

  • Get anxious/paranoid/freaked out and buy tons of supplements. I’ve crack open my supplements a few times, and honestly, the casebooks (the main textbook for classes) are not that difficult to comprehend and I have used it mainly to outline. Why? Because the professors point to what they think is important in the casebook. If you got into law school, you’re smart enough to understand the material. I would buy supplements a month after classes start so that you can talk to upperclassmen who have taken the course and hear their recommendations– TLS recommendations for supplements made me go hogwild with purchasing supplements. Not good for the wallet.

 

Till next time,

LR

 

 

 

 

