for the love of paper cuts

After handling stacks of application papers, four of my fingers are covered in bandages. You’d think I would be more careful after the first…or even the second one. I finished applying for several scholarships over the past few weeks in the hopes of paying for some of my law school expenses. Most likely, the scholarship committee will take one look at my wimpy resume, snort, and throw it in the auto-deny pile. Sigh. Well, at least I can say I honestly tried.

Most unfortunately, the majority of the good ones depend on your first semester 1L grades. BOOOO. Also, there is some SERIOUS moolah available to minority students who get good grades during their 1L year. For example, law firm fellowships offer a paid summer associate position AND scholarship money. Unlike a lot of college scholarships I’ve seen, many of these minority law school scholarships categorize Asians/Pacific Islanders as minorities. Also, try googling your local/state bar to see if they offer special scholarships– I live in the middle of nowhere and will be attending law school in another state, so I wasn’t able to take advantage of these types of scholarships.

For entering law students, there are some options. Mainly there’s writing competitions (blargh, more soul writing involved), CLEO programs, and bar association scholarships. For anyone interested (some of these scholarships stipulate that you must be a 2L or 3L so if you’re currently in law school, you’ve got some options!), check out Yale Law School’s Scholarship Database. It’s one of the better ones I’ve seen.

